Sonic Touch #22: Arturia iMini vs Model D

This episode of Sonic Touch features Nick and Gaz, with Arturia's iMini. They then go on to compare it to a real Minimoog!

Buy iMini on iTunes: $9.99

Neo-Soul Keys

Reader Florent Roux wrote in with a lot of praise for this new electric keyboard app from Gospel Musicians.

iTunes Description:

Professional quality electric piano libraries for live gigging and studio work on your iPad.

One of the first iOS music apps to feature real-time sample streaming, using Apple Lossless (CAF) format.

With the incredible success of our computer based versions of Neo-Soul Keys®, we felt it an obvious decision to bring our incredible electric piano libraries to the iOS. Despite the eagerness, we did not want to produce a sub-par app just for sake of making an electric piano library, so we worked directly with Apple’s engineers to bring to you, for the first time ever: SAMPLE STREAMING USING APPLE LOSSLESS CAF FORMAT. No other app that we know of offers real-time zone switching sample streaming with lossless compression. Many other sample library apps offer the samples to be loaded into memory, which obviously severely cripples the detail and amount of samples you are able to use. With sample streaming, we are able to use the same high quality sampling techniques, zone switching, and velocity layering, without sacrificing the quality similar to a desktop sample library. So what we did was load all of the electric piano effects samples in system memory, and dedicated the most important sustain samples to stream from the internal flash RAM. The results make for a high quality, low latency, and professional grade electric piano sound module that you can take with you and play live!

Buy Neo-Soul Keys on iTunes: Freemium

It is very interesting how they've positioned this. There is no playable on-screen keyboard, it is designed as a MIDI sound module for you to plug a MIDI keyboard into. Neo-Soul Keys is a free ad supported app, which comes with 3 excellent sounding free electric pianos. Presently the ads aren't showing. When they do start showing, and if that bothers you, you can unlock the individual keyboards for $10 each.

Here is a detailed tutorial and demo from the developer. Apparently "Urban (his word not mine) Gospel" is some grungy-dirty filth!

Tutorial: BeatMaker 2 Drum Mixing

Nekkron99 has a new BeatMaker 2 tutorial covering the mixing page of the BeatMaker 2 drum machine sampler.

Buy BeatMaker 2 on iTunes: $19.99

Octatrack, Machinedrum, iPad Dub Techno

YouTuber Paiheu has posted a live Dub Techno jam using his Elektron's Octatrack and Machinedrum along with BassLine!

Buy BassLine on iTunes: $3.99

Audiobus SDK Public Release

Following yesterday's release of the Amazing Audio Engine, the Audiobus SDK is now publicly available to all devs! Find it and a developer community forum over at the official Audiobus Developers Center.

It is pretty incredible to think about how many apps, over 100 at this time, support Audiobus while it has been essentially in a closed developer beta. Already Audiobus has been widely acknowledged for what it has brought to the iOS music world, including lots of accolades!

  • Best DJ App - Best App Ever Awards 2012
  • Best Musicians App - Best App Ever Awards 2012
  • Best use of Hardware - Best App Ever Awards 2012
  • One of the Top 10 Best Paid iPad Apps Of 2012 -
  • Best Music App of 2012 -
  • Best Music App for iPad 2012 -
« Prev Page | 1 ... 2278 2279 2280 2281 2282 ... 2557 | Next Page »

Contact | Privacy Policy | Developer Services | Advertise is a service of Gnubesoft